top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeia Roberts

Week 9


This week there was a lot to do in general to make sure I was ready to leave for my first NCECA (National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts.

I had a huge checklist for every single class I am currently enrolled in.

-Take a four part test that take two hours to take

-write two parts of my paper

-take 4 mini quizes

-finish my inside out drawing

-make 2 chains

-finish my latest mini me

And by golly was it a hard struggle and a lot of time management and planning of when and how to get it all done. But it all got done! I am so proud of myself. Because not only did I have that list but I also wanted my two scales to get done, that I made last week.

 

This week I spent many hours making my two chainz. I spent many hours working on my mini me. I think these three pieces I worked on this week were pretty great. I think they are my best chains yet, and also my best mini me yet.

My mini me worries me though. This is because I hollowed her a little to thin, and parts got a bit cracked. However, maybe it will work well with my topic if something happens. Gotta just kinda go with the flow of the clay. It's why she is on her back on a piece of foam to dry.

 

Next step after NCECA is to get terra sigillata on my past two mini me, my two scales, and my two chains. Then get everything into the kiln to be fired and ready for my BFA (Bachelors of Fine Arts) critique on April 4th and my next spacelab show with Charlyn Corum. That show is being installed on April 3rd. Got lots of things going on this semester and it feels great!

 


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page