top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeia Roberts

Week 8


Man oh man! We are already half way through the fall semester! My BFA critique is coming up and so is my fall senior show!

This week I got some more scales cast. How many though I cannot remember. I have definitely lost count. But as I am talking about scales I started looking for inspiration to hand build scales. While looking for pictures I found a scale that in the 1960's one of the Barbie themes came with a pink bathroom scale permanently set at 110 pounds and a diet book that read "How to lose weight. DON'T EAT!" This really struck me. Why would this be a product sold to little girls. It also reminded me that commercial scales in that time period were targeted towards women, and Barbie's scale resembled the real scales. So again the diet companies/culture were teaching women at such a young age to be obsessed with being skinny. Or in this case look like Barbie and weight 110 like Barbie does. This research inspired me to start experimenting with my scales that are hand built and all different. I believe I want the scales to all look different, but all be targeted at women by being pink and feminine. So I started this week by making Barbie's scale.

I also went to load a kiln full of scales this week. BUT! The kilns circuit board was fried! Hopefully this gets fixed soon!

Another thing that happened this week we had a make-a-thon I made two bowls that day before I went to church. I wish it was not on a Wednesday or I would've made more bowls. Womp. I did have fun though while I was there.

 


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page