top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeia Roberts

Week 7


This week was a bit, of a set back. I did not get much done to be honest.

This week a group in my class had a sale to raise money to go to NCECA. I put my body jewelry up for sale in this fundraiser. A lady looked at my body jewelry and said they were perverted. After she said it I laughed it off, but once I was alone it really hurt me. It hurt me to the point that I broke down and cried. These necklaces were a joy to me. They weren’t just one type of body. There were multiple shapes. I thought they were beautiful. They made me feel like they were showcasing that not one body is perfect, but they are still beautiful in every shape or form. But when she said that she brought my spirits down. I barely even touched clay this week, it made me feel like my work isn’t that good. Thinking about it, makes me sick to my stomach, but how can I let that woman bring me down? That woman was just a gateway to my ed to be able to make me feel unworthy again. However, I cannot let people who act like that hurt me or my art. Starting next week I will be getting right back into my flow and full blast motivation I have had before this incident.

 

This week I did finish my body jewelry. I also finished my recent mini me. This included hollowing the mini me out. I cannot wait to start a new one.

 

This coming week is National Eating Disorder Association awareness week. This is very important to me, and my work. So I decided that I was going to have a show for next week.

This weekend I took a whole day to install my show. It was a great experience to kick start my motivation for next week. I am so super excited, but nervous at the same time because I am going to tell my story of my eating disorder for the very first time.

Wish me luck!

 

 


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page