top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeia Roberts

Week 8


Let's just start out by saying, WOW, this week was crazy busy!

This week I gave my class a demonstration on how I make corals, like on my piece 'And So I Kept Living' and my 'Body Dysmorphia' series 1 (Stomach), 2 (Hips), and 3 (Agony).

Next thing that happened this week was my exhibition opening. Here I had my previous work mainly, with some new pieces. My main goal of my exhibition was not really to show my body of work (though I did want to do that); however, my main goal of my exhibition was to contribute to NEDA (National Eating Disorders Association) Week. My work is based off my eating disorder and my experiences with it. With that being said, I wanted to share in more depth and tell my story. I would say that I had a pretty good turn out. Not only that, but I faced my fear of talking in front of people with something that is so secret but so open in my life. Now it is very open, and that right there is called vulnerability, strength, courage, and bravery.

Another event this week that happened was the very first Southern Crossing Pottery Festival. They had a handful of artists showing/selling their work, and they also had an empty bowls event that the proceeds went to A Recipe to End Hunger (they help feed children). I volunteered to help them with any assisting that they needed me to do. I got soup from two places, helped take down the festival, helped set up the empty bowls event, and helped keep the soup ready to be served. It was quite the event, and I would love to help out again next year for sure!

Also an the company Beating Eating Disorders had a contest that took place this week. They asked for donations to have as prizes to give away to the contest winners. I donated one of my plates that I made last spring with the NEDA symbol on it. Beating Eating Disorders posted a picture on Instagram of my plate to show one of the prizes you could win. That post got me lots of recognition with having 587 likes, and lots of follows afterwards. WOW! They also gave me a pointer in writing my story of my eating disorder. They have been great help!

 

This week I don't know how much work you would say was done. Not that nothing got done, because I did get a good handful done. However, I feel like I could have got more done. I was just really preoccupied with so many things.

My first 5 chains got pit fired this week. I would say that I'm pretty well happy with how they turned out. Though I do want to maybe add something to them. That I will ponder on for a minute before I jump on it.

I got two scales built this week. I did some researching, picture wise, one scales. The scales from the mid 1900's were definitely made for propaganda for the diet industry. They were specifically angled for women, by having handles that made them look like purses, and handles that were easy to move anywhere in the house. So I went to make a scale with a handle and the handle dried too fast and fell off. *insert eye roll*

I also started a new mini me. I would say I got pretty far on it for just one weeks worth of work. I would also say that it is two times the size of my last mini me.

 

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page